From Hook to Book

Writer Hell…

Writers need ~

Solitude, silence, thinking space, musing time…

NOT THIS:-

Seriously people, a couple of weeks ago, I blogged about the positives of going out to write in other environments and escaping the nightmare noise of the new estate going in across my road. (Not ten metres away.) But, hey, it’s not exactly convenient or possible to take myself out every day. These horrific noisemakers start by seven every morning, bar Sundays, digging, grinding, jackhammering, and pounding through the day until my ears ring and I’m ready to start swearing through the windows at the workmen.

If I’m lucky to get into that writing zone, where nothing penetrates my thought track, I’m good to keep going. (You know the place where the world disappears and the house could collapse around you without you even noticing?) However, if my consciousness becomes aware of the hub-bub – ALL OVER.

What happened? I used to be able to write through the tv blaring in the next room, stereo doof thumping through the floorboards, kids chasing snacks, door bells ringing, multiple comings and goings, but… no more. I think I got used to quiet, peace, silence.

I’m amazed I’m writing a word. ‘Cept this is likely to go on for months, so I’m gritting my teeth, and…sucking it up. (And having the occasional rant.) Rant over.

Do you suffer interruptions, noise assaults, invasions of your writing space? Love to hear your tips, processes, hints into writing amid chaos. Or is it simply that my children all grew up and I’ve just forgotten how?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Writer Hell…

  1. Oh Chris,
    I don’t know how you can bear it!
    It looks and sounds shocking.
    It’s not only the noise, but the loss of the bush.
    We live opposite a park and we love it. I can pretend it’s all my frontyard.

    Loud music? A long holiday?

    I really feel for you.
    Hopefully, it will calm down once the initial digging done.
    Alison

    • Thank you for your tips and commiserations, Alison. The view is destroyed. It was treed and tranquil, and like living near the bush, from that vista. I like the sound of a long holiday, but may have to invest in some earplugs instead. 🙂 🙂 Chris.

Leave a Reply

